Upcoming Events

Tuesday, October 24, 2017 - 4:00pm to 6:00pm
October 24, 2017 - 4:00pm Refuse Bodies, Dispossessed Lives: The Ethical Practice of History
Monday, October 30, 2017 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm
October 30, 2017 - 12:00pm GLC Brown Bag: Sasha Turner, “Slavery, Emotions, and Gendered Power”
Friday, November 3, 2017 (All day) to Saturday, November 4, 2017 (All day)
November 3, 2017 (All day) GLC 19th Annual Conference: Disunion in Civil War America: Parallels for Today?
Thursday, November 16, 2017 - 5:00pm to 6:00pm
November 16, 2017 - 5:00pm GLC Book Talk: Ed Ayers, The Thin Light of Freedom: The Civil War and Emancipation in the Heart of America
Monday, November 27, 2017 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm
November 27, 2017 - 12:00pm GLC Brown Bag: Jen Manion, “Policing Freedom: The Fugitive Slave Act and the Rise of Anti Cross-Dressing Laws”
Monday, December 11, 2017 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm
December 11, 2017 - 12:00pm GLC Brown Bag: Joe Yannielli, “The Mendi Mission”
Monday, January 22, 2018 - 12:00am to 1:30am
January 22, 2018 - 12:00am GLC Brown Bag: Selena Sanderfer, "Involuntary Pilgrimage: Black Southerners and Territorial Separatism, 1783-1904."
January 22, 2018 - 12:00am GLC Brown Bag: Selena Sanderfer, "Involuntary Pilgrimage: Black Southerners and Territorial Separatism, 1783-1904."
Monday, February 19, 2018 - 12:00am to 1:30am
February 19, 2018 - 12:00am GLC Brown Bag: Hannah-Rose Murray, “ ‘It is Time for the Slaves to Speak’: Transatlantic Abolitionism and African American Resistance in Nineteenth-Century Britain”
Monday, March 5, 2018 - 12:00am to 1:30am
March 5, 2018 - 12:00am GLC Brown Bag: Julie Miller, “The History of the Person in America Before the Civil War”
Monday, March 26, 2018 - 12:00am to 1:30am
March 26, 2018 - 12:00am GLC Brown Bag: Anita Rupprecht, “ ‘Liberated Africans’, Indenture and Resistance in the British Caribbean 1807-1828."
Wednesday, May 2, 2018 - 12:00am to 1:30am
May 2, 2018 - 12:00am GLC Brown Bag: Amanda Bellows, “Memories of American Slavery and Russian Serfdom on the Fiftieth Anniversaries of Emancipation”
Monday, May 14, 2018 - 12:00am to 1:30am
May 14, 2018 - 12:00am GLC Brown Bag: Urvashi Chakravarty, "Fictions of Consent: Slavery, Servitude, and Free Service in Early Modern England."